• October 31, 2019

Mingxing’s and Jie’s joint project is highlighted by the UVA Data Science Institute.
Using machine learning and image data to study bacterial communities

  • May 1, 2019

Alecia’s review paper is online! Congratulations! 
Enabling technologies in super-resolution fluorescence  microscopy: Reporters, labeling, and methods of measurement.  

  • April 19, 2019

Ting’s paper is published! Congratulations! 
Computational correction of spatially-variant optical aberrations in 3D single-molecule localization microscopy

  • April 3, 2019

Patrick receives a Andrews summer research scholarship. Congratulations and thanks!

  • March 25, 2019

Julian's paper is published. Congratulations! 
Resolving cytosolic diffusive states in bacteria by single-molecule tracking

  • March 14, 2019

Yibo Wang joins the group. Welcome!

  • March 2, 2019

Mingxing and Jie were selected for the Presidential Fellows Program in Data Science. Congratulations!
These fellowship will support their research on 3D bacterial cell segmentation and shape analysis in bacterial biofilms.

  • March 1, 2019

Arslan gets accepted into the Janelia Undergraduate Scholars Program. Congratulations!

  • November 18, 2018

Joshua Prindle and Patrick Hart join the group. Welcome!

  • September 20, 2018

Alecia advances to Ph.D. candidacy. Congratulations, future Dr. Achimovich!  

August 8, 2018

Julian's paper is accepted!  …and it made the front cover!  
Single-molecule tracking in live Yersinia enterocolitica reveals distinct cytosolic complexes of injectisome subunits

  • May 2, 2018

Arslan wins a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship from UVA's NanoSTAR Institute. Congratulations!

  • February 13, 2018

Ji advances to Ph.D. candidacy . Congratulations, future Dr. Zhang!

  • September 5, 2017

Welcome to our new group members! 
Jackie Corbitt joins us as a postdoctoral scholar. Jackie comes to us from Paul Wiggins' lab at the University of Washington. 
Mika Poblete joins the group as  an undergraduate student. Welcome! 

  • April 13, 2017

Arslan wins first place at the local ACS meeting poster session. Congratulations!

April 7, 2017

Mingxing wins second place at the 3rd year graduate student poster session. Congratulations!

  • March 17, 2017

Alecia Achimovich joins the group. Welcome!

  • February 13, 2017

Ting advances to Ph.D. candidacy . Congratulations, future Dr. Yan!

  • February 1, 2017

Ji Zhang and Arshiya Ansari join the group. Welcome!

  • November 26, 2016

Andreas will present new data at the 2017 Future of Biophysics Burroughs Wellcome Fund Symposium at the upcoming Biophysical Society Annual Meeting in New Orleans.  Hope to see you there!

  • October 28, 2016

Alma Rivera joins the group. Welcome!

Charles and Andreas behind our home-built super-resolution microscope
  • August 30, 2016

Charles receives a Hartwell Postdoctoral Fellowship.  
Congratulations, Charles!  
This fellowship will support his research on elucidating the molecular mechanisms of exopolysaccharide biosynthesis and secretion that enable biofilm formation by the opportunistic human pathogen Pseudomonas aeruginosa.

  • August 1, 2016

Maya Hand joins us as a visiting high school student from St. Timothy's School in Stevenson, MD.  Welcome!

  • April 1, 2016

Franziska Birmes joins us as a visiting scholar from the University of Muenster in Germany.  Welcome!

  • March 7, 2016

Shariq wins the Mitchell Summer Research Scholarship in the UVA Physics Department.  Congratulations!

  • March 2, 2016

Funding arrives from the Jeffress Memorial Trust Awards Program in Interdisciplinary Research.  Thank you!
The award will support undergraduate and graduate research as well as a new project in microbial biofilm imaging.

  • February 1, 2016 

Arslan Aziz joins the group. Welcome!

  • December 4, 2015

Ting Yan joins the group.  Welcome!

  • June 3, 2015

Shariq wins the Mitchell Scholarship in the UVA Physics Department.  Congratulations!

  • June 1, 2015

Welcome to our new group members! 
Charles Richardson joins us as a postdoctoral scholar from Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center - Shreveport. 
Soraya Tarrah joins us as a summer research student through the VA/NC Alliance.   

  • April 7, 2015

Caroline and Eugene have won a Bass and a Xiang scholarship to support their summer research.  
Congratulations and thanks UVA!

Sven Lidin, Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry, explains the significance of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

  • November 20, 2014

Mingxing Zhang and Julian Rocha join as the first graduate students.

  • October 8, 2014

Congratulations to Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell, and W. E. Moerner for winning the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy.

  • August 25, 2014

    Caroline Darch, Eugene Cai, and Michael MacKnight join as the first group members.